Interview with Aleesah Darlison

22 10 2010

Today I welcome children’s author, Aleesah Darlison, for the final stop on her blog tour celebrating the launch of Totally Twins. Aleesah is a huge inspiration—by November she’ll have three books published this year and more to come in 2011. Her first book, Puggle’s Problem, is a picture book about a baby echidna (a puggle) who is impatient for his spines to come through. She recently launched Musical Mayhem, the first book in her Totally Twins series, and the second book in the series—Model Mania—will be out at the end of the year.

"Musical Mayhem cover""Puggle's Problem, cover""Model Behaviour cover"

Totally Twins is a junior series about identical twins, Persephone and Portia Pinchgut. Although they look the same, the girls have quite different personalities and the books are written in diary format, recorded by Persephone. Musical Mayhem was published in September 2010 and includes black and white illustrations by Serena Geddes.

Today I’m having a quick chat with Aleesah about her childhood. You can check out the other stops on her tour via the links at the end of this post.

So, it has to be asked—are you a twin?"Aleesah Darlison"

I’m not a twin, but boy did I wish I was one when I was a kid. I always thought it would be fun to have someone who looked, felt and thought exactly like me. A very naive view of twins, I know, but I was just a kid! And I thought it would be fun to play tricks on people.

Do you have any brothers or sisters?

I have one older brother and two younger sisters.

When you were ten, what did you think was unfair in your household?

Just about every decision made in the household that didn’t go my way. And especially me having to wash up and my brother not having to. Yuck!

Did you ever fight with your siblings about your bedroom/chores/borrowing stuff without asking etc?

I think my brother and I fought over just about everything. I’m sure we drove Mum mad, just like my kids now drive me mad! What goes around comes around, I guess. My little sisters used to get into my stuff all the time. They were quite a bit younger than me and so many of my toys, dolls and books, which I’d treasured and looked after for years, ended up destroyed or missing in action. Oh well! Looking back, I think my parents tried to deal fairly with all our complaints even if it didn’t seem fair at the time. As a perfect sister, I, of course, had no complaints lodged against me by my siblings. LOL. Oops, that sounds like something Portia would say.

Did you keep a diary?

I’ve kept various diaries throughout the years. Some I’ve kept. Others I’ve burned or shredded so no one could ever read them. None of my diaries have ever been read by anyone else (that I know of!) because they’re too intensely personal.

If you could go back to being your 10-year-old self again, what would your perfect day be?

A day at school (I adored school as a kid) writing stories, playing with my friends, being able to put a lunch order in for a meat pie and tomato sauce and maybe some cheese on SAOs. They were always big at my school. Earning a ‘Merit Certificate’ or two and finishing the day off with an athletics carnival where I’d compete in every event going. All the best memories of my primary school years rolled into one day – it doesn’t get better than that.

You can find out more about Aleesah Darlison at her website. Persephone also has her own blog where you can send her messages and download Totally Twins material.

But wait—there’s more! Check out the other stops on her blog tour and join in the celebrations for Totally Twins. Here’s where to go:

Sandy Fussell
Be a Fun Mum with Kellie Burstow
Kids Book Review with Tania McCartney
More Than Words Blogspot with Debbie Johansson
The Book Chook with Susan Stephenson
Book Blog with Dave Hibbins
Alphabet Soup Blog with Rebecca Newman
From the Mouths of Babes with Katrina Roe
Squiggle Mum with Catherine Oehlman
Let’s Have Words with Claire Saxby
Sally Murphy’s Writing For Children
Book Blog with Dave Hibbins
Read Plus with Pat Pledger
Boobook with Rebecca Newman [You’re here!]

Actions

Information

3 responses

22 10 2010
Tweets that mention Interview with Aleesah Darlison « Boobook -- Topsy.com

[…] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Rebecca Newman , Rebecca Newman. Rebecca Newman said: Interview with @Aleesah Darlison, author of the Totally Twins series. https://boobook.wordpress.com/2010/10/22/interview-aleesah-darlison/ […]

23 10 2010
Kelly B

Great interview! Enjoyed it very much.

23 10 2010
boobook

Thanks, Kelly B. 🙂

I was just thinking about her sisters getting into her things (and how my brother once poked the eye in of my Humpty Dumpty Easter Egg I was saving), when my 8 yo discovered her little sister had taken her playing cards and bent some of them. Some things never change …

Leave a Reply

