Funny Picture Books

29 05 2010

Last month I sent out a request via twitter for funny picture books I could use as a read-aloud for 7 and 8 year olds. Thank you to @KarenCollum, @MissCackle and @SallyMurphy for their excellent suggestions.

I added my own favourites and, as someone later asked me to share it, here ’tis. (Note: I did specify ‘no toilet humour’ at the time, as I wasn’t looking for toilet humour for this particular read-aloud session.)

  • Ca-a-r Ca-a-a-a-r by Geoff HavelCaps for Sale (cover)
  • The Wrong Book by Nick Bland
  • Click Clack Moo by Doreen Cronin
  • The Stinky Cheese Man and Other Fairly Stupid Tales by John Scieska
  • Babette Cole’s books
  • Mr Magnolia by Quentin Blake
  • Caps for Sale by Esphyr Slobodkina

And just this afternoon I stumbled across the title, A Porcupine Named Fluffy, by Helen Lester. I haven’t read it, but it sounds like it would be funny! Anyone read it?

If you can recommend other funny picture books for this age group, please do leave them in the comments and I’ll add them to the list!

—-

Additions!

  • Lisa Wheeler’s [are] very funny. Lots of puns. Right now our favorite is Porcupining: a Prickly Love Story. Sailor Moo, Cows at Sea is very funny too.  –Julie Hedlund
  • Roald Dahl’s Revolting Rhymes@katrinagermein
  • My Dad Thinks He’s Funny by Katrina Germein
Actions

Information

4 responses

30 05 2010
Julie

I just checked out a lot of Lisa Wheeler’s books and they’re very funny. Lots of puns. Right now our favorite is Porcupining: a Prickly Love Story. Sailor Moo, Cows at Sea is very funny too.

30 05 2010
boobook

Thanks Julie! I’ll add those books to the post.

30 05 2010
Katrina Germein

Thank you Rebecca! I’m in the middle of writing teaching notes for my new book ‘My Dad Thinks He’s Funny’. One of the themes is humour so I’ve been on the look out for other funny picture books to include. Your post is very helpful and timely.:)

30 05 2010
boobook

Hi Katrina – can’t wait to read your new book!

Leave a Reply

