Poetry Wall

13 04 2010

So. You’ve probably heard that April is National Poetry Month in the US.

But I’m in Australia.

Fortunately, living in the wrong better hemisphere doesn’t stop Australians. We happily borrow ideas from all over the place and ignore the ‘National’ part or accidentally-on-purpose misread it and come up with INTERnational instead. Ha!

Anyway, Alison Miles inspired me (via this post, where she was guest blogging over at Sally Murphy’s) to set up a poetry wall in our backyard. We have a green fence that the kids are allowed to write on with chalk. After reading Alison’s post, we declared it a temporary Poetry Wall and here are the first poems that were chalked up on the wall by Miss 8 and Master 6:

The fence is corrugated, so in case it’s a bit hard to read, I’ll transcribe it for you here:

In My Bed by Miss 8

I sleep in my Bed,
I play in my Bed,
I read in my Bed,
My soft and cuddly
Bed. Goodnight.

My Bike by Master 6

Only my legs
move
But I
move.

As I type this, it’s raining. Which means the poetry will be washed away by tomorrow morning – and we can start afresh on our poetry wall.

Have you got a poetry wall for INTERnational Poetry Month?

Actions

Information

7 responses

13 04 2010
Julie

What a great idea! I’ll have to find something around our house to do the same.

13 04 2010
boobook

Thanks, Julie. The kids are really loving it – after initially thinking I was a bit mad. 🙂

13 04 2010
alison miles

I’ve gone all mushy inside Rebecca, thank you! But specially thanks to your amazing wall poets, Miss 8 and Master 6.

We’re moving into our new place v. soon – will be heading off to get a greenboard myself (used to have one in maryborough).

Let’s see how many poetry walls we can inspire around the country!
Happy Poetry month 🙂

14 04 2010
boobook

Well, thanks for the idea! They’re out there drawing with chalk all the time, but we would never have thought to write poetry up there without your little nudge. 🙂

13 04 2010
Tweets that mention Poetry Wall « Boobook -- Topsy.com

[…] This post was mentioned on Twitter by alison, Rebecca Newman. Rebecca Newman said: Poetry Wall, inspired by @librarianalison http://wp.me/pj3dS-13 […]

14 04 2010
Kat Apel

Oooh! I love this, boobook. Hmmm… I’m sure I can find a spot at home AND school.

And your kids’ poems are gorgeous! Cosy, comforting Bed poem and clever little riddle of a bike.

14 04 2010
boobook

Thanks for stopping by, Kat!
Do it! Do it!
🙂

Leave a Reply

