The books by my bed

20 01 2010

I have many many many books in my ‘to read’ pile. But the books I am currently reading include:

Clarice Bean, Don’t Look Now, by Lauren Child

This comes with a little CD at the back. I haven’t listened to that yet because I started reading before I realised the CD was there. It’s light, and fun, and I think my daughter will enjoy it when I’m finished with it.

Dig, by Meredith Kirton

I’m reading this because we are planning to adjust our backyard. I say ‘adjust’ because really what we’d like to do is redesign and overhaul the backyard, but we’re not clever enough (or rich enough) to do that. We’re putting in several vegetable patches and a passionfruit vine. And probably a lemon tree. Mostly I picked this book because I (not so) secretly wanted someone to give me Stephanie Alexander’s Kitchen Garden Companion for Christmas, but they didn’t. And it’s too new to hit our library’s shelves yet, so I browsed in their gardening section and I liked this cover very much. (Shallow me.)

Getting Real: Challenging the Sexualisation of Girls, edited by Melinda Tankard Reist

I asked for this for my birthday late last year. I can only cope with a chapter or two at a time because I have two girls, and when reading this book I alternate between being frightened and angry (about the world, not the book). When I find it all a bit too scary I go back for a bit more of Clarice Bean. (She’s keeping a List of Worries. But luckily she’s too young to read Getting Real.)

Boy, by Roald Dahl

Because I’m trying to reread as many Roald Dahl books over the school holidays as I can. And Boy is one of my favourite books.

The Loblolly Boy by James Norcliffe

I was sent this one for review and it’s a bit creepy. I’m hooked now. And I keep meaning to look up ‘loblolly’ to see if it’s an actual word or a made up one. (It’s an awkward word to say.)

[Late edit: I looked up loblolly and it is indeed a word and I wish I had looked it up earlier because the boy makes more sense now! Gruel anyone? Must brush up on my seafaring vocab … Here’s the wikipedia entry, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Loblolly_boy.]

So. What are you reading?

Actions

Information

One response

21 01 2010
Tweets that mention The books by my bed « Boobook -- Topsy.com

[…] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Rebecca Newman, Rebecca Newman. Rebecca Newman said: What I'm reading. https://boobook.wordpress.com/2010/01/20/the-books-by-my-bed/ […]

Leave a Reply

